Author Topic: Realistic Help with a Narcissistic Boss  (Read 6225 times)

Vic99

• Stubble
Realistic Help with a Narcissistic Boss
« on: May 18, 2016, 04:34:36 AM »
I have been teaching at a private school for twenty years.  I've got another nine-ten before retirement.  Changing schools is really out of the question.  I could write lots of why I want to stay there, but won't.

The school hired a new principle a couple of years ago.  Like all bosses this guy made big changes, some positive, some I would agree to disagree with, and some poor.  Morale at the school among the faculty and staff has tanked, partly because this principle does not project himself as a good leader. There are many reasons why he is not a good leader but I believe it all stems from the following: Meeting in front of the entire faculty or just meeting one on one he likes to do two things:  ALWAYS make the conservation about him and tell us how hard his job is and the hurdles he has had to overcome.  I don't mind an anecdote once and a while, but this is truly unprofessional.  I can say the feeling among the faculty follows my sentiment . . . in fact I'm one of the more positive people there . . . and believe me, not annoyingly so.

I try to get a long with everyone.  Partly because that is who I am and partly because it is self serving.  Although I have preserved a professional relationship with this person, I am not in a position to say anything to him.  My department head is very diplomatic and wants to find a way to change his behavior, but hasn't been able to work out how to do it properly.  The school board I'm sure sees how he is.  But they renewed his contract because he has gotten results.  I'm not sure if they understand how miserable this guy can make us.