Author Topic: ReaderCaseStudy - Where to start, how to improve? UPDATE  (Read 14548 times)

CharChar

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
ReaderCaseStudy - Where to start, how to improve? UPDATE
« on: October 26, 2013, 12:48:13 PM »
New to this! I've been reading MMM posts for quite some time but this is my first time on the forum :)

Heres my info:

27/female, no kids
Income: $1350/mo
Student Loan: $8300 total...couple of smaller ones @ 2.9 and the larger one @6.8, I pay $150/mo on these, more than minimum
Car: 2005 Mazda hatchback, paid off
Car insurance: $50/mo
Cat: $120/mo max
Fuel: $200/mo max
General (food, drink, hygene): $200/mo
Savings: $5000 cash (at home)
No 401k or any sort of investment/retirement account
Will be getting an $1800 tax refund in Jan.

Heres my life situation:
I am currently living in my parents basement for free (including free groceries. im very thankful to have supportive parents to help me get back on my feet) while I save and make plans to move to another state (CA - inland area where cost of living is just slightly higher than where I am now) in March. Once there, I hope to be able to live close to work and ride a bike to most places. Right now I do not have a safe bike path to my work(very busy streets, not bike friendly, girl just got hit and lost a leg...scary!)

Up until recently I used the extra money each paycheck to pay off my CC. Now that its paid off(as of last month), I am putting $250-350 into savings each pay period, which I plan to use for the move and have extra rent set aside or use it for my idea stated in the next paragraph...