Author Topic: Reader Case Study: What work to do or help with the stubble  (Read 5292 times)

fredcanfly

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reader Case Study: What work to do or help with the stubble
« on: September 16, 2014, 07:19:00 PM »
A little bit about me and my situation, then on to the numbers.  I am a disabled veteran, with the only skill that I posess any kind of experience for being satellite communications installer/troubleshooter.  The jobs for that skill that I have seen have all required quite a degree of physical labor that I can unfortunately no longer perform.  I am receiving both VA disability payments and Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI).  My works as a Certified Nurses Assistant (CNA).  We are also trapped with a house that we can't live in (but the rent almost covers the mortgage payment).  Between all forms of income, we are able to make quite a debt payment (I only just figured this out).

I think that at our current level of income vs. expenses, we could achieve financial freedom in about 14 years.  That number is nice, but not good enough for me.  So, we need to cut expenses and/or improve income.  My vote is for both.  However, my wife is holding us locked on one major anti-mustachian expense and some of the areas I know could use improvement.  Just need to figure out how.

On to numbers:

Income
VA Disability:  $24,400
SSDI:  $21,276 <---------- $600/mo of this goes to the wife as a "caretaker".
Rent:  $10,116 <----------- This is from that awful house that we are upside down in.
Wife's Job:  $12,000 <----- This is after taxes and health insurance that covers the family.

Total Income: $67,792

Expenses
Rental House Mortgage:  $10,500 <----------- This is PITI
Primary House Mortgage:  $5,400 <----------- Also PITI
Ugly Stupid SUV loan:  $3,852 <--------------- Cannot dump due to constraints by wife - she fought with me for years to get this.