Author Topic: Reader Case Study-- what can I do better?  (Read 8051 times)

lilybbloom

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reader Case Study-- what can I do better?
« on: January 06, 2016, 02:36:34 PM »
Hi-- a few people on the corporette blog recommended this site and I've been enjoying reading some of the articles.  I'm concerned that I don't have much of a financial game plan and I was hoping to get some pointers. Thanks in advance for reading! And if I've missed relevant information or mis-formatted anything please let me know.

Life Situation: Single (but co-habitating), no children, large east coast city (not NY), 29 years old.  I've been working for 3 years. My first 2 years out of law school my salary was significantly lower, I was on IBR, and I hardly saved any money (was mostly paying off credit card debt).

Gross Salary/Wages: $175,000 plus ~$20,000 yearly bonus pre-tax

Pre-tax deductions: I max out my 401k ($18k/year); also pay health insurance pre-tax (~$1400/year) 

Other Ordinary Income: n/a

Qualified Dividends & Long Term Capital Gains: n/a

Rental Income, Actual Expenses, and Depreciation: n/a

Adjusted Gross Income: $175,600

Taxes: Including FICA, federal, state, and city wage tax, roughly $73,500/year (42% effective rate)

Current expenses (this includes my half of everything I share with my SO):

*$1000 rent
*$150 utilities (internet, cable, gas, electric, water)
*$90 cell phone
*$45 charitable donations
*$2600 student loan payments
*$1600 credit card debt payments
*$200 groceries
*$2000 savings (savings account; no interest earned)
*$1,000 everything else (clothes, eating out, toiletries, travel)
*Total: $8700

Assets: $11,000 in savings; $17,000 in 401(k)

Liabilities:

*Student loans - I recently refinanced my law school loans with SOFI.  Current balance: $200,000 (2.9% variable interest rate)
I'm on a 10-year repayment plan.  Minimum payment is $2,080, I pay $2500/month with the extra toward principal.