Author Topic: Reader Case Study- To Pension or not to Pension  (Read 3647 times)

Ryvax

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reader Case Study- To Pension or not to Pension
« on: December 07, 2014, 08:50:03 AM »
Reader Case Study- To Pension or not to Pension

Hello fellow Mustachians!  I’m a Canadian Soldier who’s wondering if I should go for the pension or cash out and move my family closer to home.  Here’s the deets on my situation.  Let me know if you have any questions.  Thanks in advance for the help!

Income:  My salary after taxes, 4000 +/- 50$ a month. 

Wife just got a new part time line (only a temp line for a year) that should bring in approximately 2000 a month after taxes, will have a more precise number in January when she starts.   

I occasionally sell some of my photography fine art that brings in some cash but have not had time in the past year.  But could be possible future income.

Current Expenses: 

Rent                            960
Internet/Netflix              70
Cell Phones                  170
Insurance                    150
Heating(gas)/Electric    300
Vehicle Gas                  150
Groceries                   1000
(including diapers/
wipes/ kid stuff)

Investments   
Wife RRSP                    200
My RRSP                      200
Savings(xmas/vaca)     100
Child RESP(2kids)         250

Fun Money (200 each)  400
This we do whatever
with. Movies, coffee,
whatever.  When it’s
gone it’s gone.

TOTAL:  $3880

Assets:

2.4 Acres of land valued at 20k in our home town.  Possible retirement location.  Paid off.  Selling not an option until we know for sure we don't want to retire there as it connects to family land.

2008 Toyota Tacoma with only 100 000 Kilometers and in excellent condition with winter and summer tires in great shape.  Paid off and valued at about 18k if we where to sell it.  Looking to get at least another 10 years out of it.

Total: 38K

Kids RESP              2K
My RRSP              25K
Wife’s RRSP          20K