Author Topic: Reader Case Study - To Homeown or not to homeown?  (Read 3343 times)

LosAngeleno

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reader Case Study - To Homeown or not to homeown?
« on: August 24, 2015, 11:54:32 AM »
Hi there. Could I trouble you all for some advice? New here - longtime lurker. Lifetime of bad habits that have started to change in the last 6 months, but not there yet. We have gone nuclear on our spending for the last 6 months and it has been wonderful. Long way to go still. But here's the situation:

Life Situation: Married, early 30s, living in Los Angeles (have to be here for the work I do, but I also love it)
Gross Salary: I grossed around 80k last year as a freelancer, my wife 104k in her job.
Pre-Tax deductions: health insurance, wife's job contributes (not matching, just contributes) to 401k ~ 15k / year

Current expenses: Rent $2900, Auto lease (I know) $300, my freelance equipment is owned outright at this point, so my hard costs are very low.
Assets: Around 16k in 401k, 19k in cash (not moved anywhere just yet, pertinent to question)
Liabilities: 9.5k in credit card debt, 18%

Notes: I was renting a separate workspace for around $600 / month but we moved to a place that could accommodate the work I do. I am really uncomfortable with how much we are paying in rent, but it is a little bit less than what I was paying for living space and separate work space.

Question: We are considering whether or not to buy a house, vs do something else with the cash (like pay off the credit cards and put the rest away). We have found a house in the city that could accommodate my work for 560k. We could use our cash for a 3.5% down payment. Our monthly living expense would go to close to 3600 but at least it would be contributing to a mortgage and not just getting burned in rent.