Author Topic: Reader Case Study - Surgery Resident w/ tons of student loan debt  (Read 5254 times)

Jorski

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hi all,

Thanks for checking out my post. Im a second year surgery resident living the dream. Ive been lurking on the site for a year or so now and really embrace the idea of minimalism and anti-consumerism and being efficient with less. Now that I have a steady paycheck as opposed to living on loans I have gotten serious about the financial side of things and have hit a roadblock. Here is the breakdown of monthly income/expenses:

Income (net)      
Pay

- $2,958.00    

Expense      
Rent   
- $400.00    
Utilities   
- $125.00    
Gas   
- $40.00    
Car Insurance   
-$90.00    
Cell   
- $12.00    
Food   
- $300.00    
Medical school loan
- $65.00    
Undergrad loan   
- $200.00    
Total    Expense
-$1,232.00    

Difference   
+ $1,726.00    

Student Loans      
AES (undergrad)   
- $21,996.00  3.46%
Med Unsub   
- $252,115.00  6.75%
Med Sub   
- $27,308.00    6.75%
Total   
- $301,419.00