Author Topic: Reader Case Study - Staying at a career you don't love or bailing to financial u  (Read 5770 times)

schmiddy

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I just started reading this blog and love it,  I've been following the Dave Ramsey baby steps for a few years now and just stumbled onto this blog through a wormhole in the internet and it really resonated with me from a financial standpoint and otherwise (I'm pretty sure I'm an unknowing stoic).  In a short period of time it's provided me with some great outlook on the possibilities out there for me. 

I find myself in a sort of existential crisis right now and am looking for some opinions/commiseration on the situation.  About a month ago I decided I had had it with my career in the business world.  I'm a former software developer turned Business Systems Analyst for the supply chain portion of a consumer products company in Michigan.  I recently decided that the day in, day out drudgery of office life was too much for me and after paying off my 25,000 in student loans and working long enough to become fully vested in my company's retirement savings contribution that I was quitting the rat race for an as of yet undecided future.  I planned on taking the summer to myself and thru-hiking the Appalachian trail and after that pursuing a new career in a field that suits me more (read: being a bum short term while I figure out what I want).  I was working a plan to pick up a second job to add some extra to my stache until March and then peac-ing out for the trail with my dog while renting out my home to cover the mortgage and hopefully make a little cash on the side.  Then the old Mr. Money Mustache blog hit me and the idea that it would be possible to retire early and be COMPLETELY free was too good to turn away from.