Author Topic: Reader Case Study – Raising a family on one teacher's salary  (Read 2353 times)

wmthe2

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reader Case Study – Raising a family on one teacher's salary
« on: November 06, 2015, 08:25:34 PM »

Life Situation: 33 years old. Married filing jointly. 2 year old son and a daughter on the way. I’m a public school teacher, wife is a stay at home mom, and will be for at least 3 more years. She is a former teacher who swears she is not going back to it. We are in the 15% tax bracket.

Net Salary/Wages: 40,328, (3360 monthly) including summer school pay.

Pre-tax deductions: 7% mandatory pretax pension plan contribution. Will probably not reach the 10 years needed to be fully vested and will withdraw my contributions (with pitiful interest) when I leave teaching. I don’ t have a lot of confidence in Pennsylvania’s Teacher pension plan   

Taxes: We take the standard deduction for now.

Current monthly expenses:
Rent: 1095
Electricity: 65
Natural Gas 60
Trash, Sewer, Water, 71
Renters Insurance 12
Phone 25 (two cell phones – republic and tracfone)
TV (Netflix and occasional rental) 9
Internet 40
Car Insurance/Registration/Inspection 70
Gas 80 (projected for higher gas prices this year)
Car repairs 30
Life Insurance (20 year term, 500,000) 29
Medical/Dental copays, deductibles, exc: 60
Groceries/Personal Care 350 (includes paper goods, hygiene stuff, house cleaners)
Restaurants 50
Clothes 30
Vacation/ Travel 85
Gifts 30
Entertainment 25 (family outings)
Church/charity 330
Student Debt Repayment 247
Misc. (everything else) 70

Total: 2863

Assets:
Cash and liquid assets: 296000
Retirement assets: 89800 (approximately 19,000 pre tax, and 70,000 Roth IRA)
Car: 2007 Honda Civic (98,000 miles) paid off, worth about 5,000 

Liabilities:
Student Loan: 9,900 at 0% interest. About three more years of payments. (This was a special teacher cert. program that basically offered an interest free loan from the school. 

Story: