Author Topic: Reader Case Study - Opinion on this financial independence/retirement plan  (Read 5626 times)

HazelEyes

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I discovered MMM recently and have been reading the articles and forum posts. There seems to be a lot of good people here who have knowledge and a good set of values, so I thought I'd maybe get some opinions/advice on the investment/retirement plan my husband and I currently are working on.

Background: The two of us are in our early 40's, with no children, and we live in Placer County, Northern California. We are total homebodies and only go out when we must (grocery, important appointments, running chores), and since we work at home, we only go out about twice a month on average. We rarely eat out (I'm a pretty mean cook), don't drink, smoke, or get high. We don't have expensive hobbies or wander lust (did plenty of traveling when younger, and no longer have an interest), although hubby does creative work so his photography/audio/tech gadgets are the only significant spendings.

Experience: We've bought and sold apartments and houses abroad a  few times in the past, and have invested in stocks, bonds, gold, tea, etc, too, but we've only bought one house in the States (our current home), and have only recently started doing homework on investing in rental operties and stock investments for the U.S. market.

Income: Hubby currently does freelance work, and the money is not stable (used to be in the $40k~$55k range, but now due to growing competition, only around $30k, and will likely decrease with time). I'm a silent partner in a business that generates roughly $34k for my share a year, but this is also not stable, since the business fluctuates. Together, that's about $64k a year (if things are stable), and after taxes it's about $54k net for our household.

Current expenses:
Mortgage + Property tax + Property Insurance + Mello-Roos = $1,850
HOA (includes Internet) = $118
Food = $500
Utilities = $200
Car + Health Insurance = $300