Author Topic: Reader Case Study - Need some direction  (Read 5108 times)

sjc0816

• Bristles
Reader Case Study - Need some direction
« on: February 26, 2015, 12:20:02 PM »
Hello!  I have been scouring over MMM posts for the last several months and decided it was time to post a case study in hopes of getting some advice on our current situation.

Background: We are currently 37 and 38 years old.  Married with two boys (8 and 5).  I have been a SAHM for 8 years and would like to continue to SAH for the next few years.  I am very involved and school and other organizations and my husband and I like the flexibility that my being home allows when it comes to sick kids/school breaks/snow days/summer, etc. So our future planning doesn't include me going back to work. It may or may not happen at some point. 

We have always been fairly frugal but have lacked direction and organization to buckle down and really save.  Moving forward we would like to really focus on trying to save and have the ability to FIRE somewhere in the 50-60 range. DH actually loves his job but works crazy odd hours and we'd love for him to have the ability to go part-time or consult in the next 10-20 years. 

Income

Gross - 122K/year
Net - 6k per month (after 12% to 401k - employer does not match but dumps 7-10% in 401K annually as profit sharing)

Expenses

2038 - PITI (17 years left on 20 yr. at 3.25%)
75  - life insurance (500K on him, 250K on me)
85 - auto insurance (2 vehicles)
23 - YMCA membership
210 - gas/electric (budget billing)
130 - cable/internet
180 - verizon - 2 cells with data plan
70 - water/sewer/garbage
100 - charity
150 - student loan (1800 remaining, 2.9%)
700-800 - groceries/household items (I really need to get this down)
200 - dining out/entertainment
150 - gas
50 - medical (copays, medicine, etc)
100 - kids activities (sports)
50 - clothes

4361.00 TOTAL per month

Assets

Home - value 275k