Author Topic: Reader Case Study - Need help with student loan repayment and saving ratio  (Read 6174 times)

SalMonella

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello all!  I am 26, have recently graduated law school, and am fortunate to have a job.  Despite scholarships, I graduated with a large amount of student debt.  I also lived above my means in a very expensive city while a graduate student.  I now wish to repent and live responsibly, but need this forum's help formulating a plan. 

I'm doing some things right, but I'm doing many things very wrong.  I would love to be able to knock my debt out as quickly as possible, but I am worried that:
   1. I need to save money for a house/retirement/children/etc. and I will lose out on time and compounding interest if I delay putting money in a savings account/401(k)/Roth IRA while I am eligible;
   2. If I save/invest my money, and I lose my job, then it is there to withdraw, even if at a penalty.  If I pay my loans off instead, I will have nothing to show for my hard work (the student loans can always be forgiven after 25 years in the absolute worst case scenario that I lose my job and can't get a similar salary elsewhere and am forced to go on income based repayment);

Income: I net around $4700 a month.  I started working only two months ago.  There are lock-step raises every year, and a potential for an annual bonus if I bust my ass.

Assets
   • Around $2,200 in a checking account, already spoken for in my monthly budget for November.
   • $1,000 in a savings account which I have designated my Emergency Fund. 
   • Old Japanese sedan that I bought used for $2500, likely worth around that. 
   • A motorcycle worth $11,200 according to KBB, but I doubt I could get more than $9,000 on the private market for it.  I am trying to sell it.

Liabilities
   • $4,476.25 - 0% - old Credit Card Debt that is at 0% for 11 more months.
   • $8,315.85 - 6.99% - Motorcycle Loan
   • $16,641.19 - 7.875% - Private Student Loan