Author Topic: Reader case study: my net worth is $800k+, how do I get excited about investing?  (Read 10131 times)

lise

Hi

I am fairly new to Mr Money Mustache, but have been living a similar lifestyle without knowing he existed!  I enjoy good food and love to travel, but don't own a car and get books out of the library. 

I am a single 45 year old women and live a somewhat nomadic lifestyle  I freelance for work.  So for me, it makes sense for me to rent where I live hence why a property where I live is not listed below.  I'm not going to provide you with income and expenses but instead will provide a break down of assets (I have no liabilities).

My problem is not being able to save.  My problem is not being excited about investing; but also not being able to trust an investment advisor; and I worry every now and then I am not investing in the right way.  How do others out there choose how to invest?  How do they get excited about it?  Is there a book that is easy to read about how to make choices that won't bore me to tears?  To be honest, reading this blog is the first I felt some sort of need to be more active in my investing.  I look at the funds I've picked below and wonder if I'm being too safe?

Rental income property (mortgage free) $300,000

Retirement accounts
Vanguard Target Retirement 2030 Fund VTHRX $260,000
Vanguard 500 Index Fund Admiral SharesVFIAX $63,000
Vanguard Total Bond Market Index Fund Admiral SharesVBTLX $11,000
Overseas retirement accounts $58,000

Non retirement accounts
Vanguard LifeStrategy Moderate Growth FundVSMGX $41000

Savings account (I know - way to high at the moment but this is at Ally so rates comparable to CD rates plus I freelance so need a cushion right?) $80,000
Overseas cash $20,000
CD (Ally) $10,000

Would appreciate any feedback!

Heckler

• Handlebar Stache
You don't need to get excited. Set it and forget it till you need it.

thedayisbrave

• Pencil Stache
  • CFO @ My Life