Author Topic: Reader Case Study - Killing loans vs. saving and investing  (Read 7711 times)

treefingers

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reader Case Study - Killing loans vs. saving and investing
« on: July 22, 2014, 11:38:28 PM »
In short:  Hey guys, I'm a 25-year-old software developer.  I have manageable student loan debt, a car that I will be selling very soon (still paying off the loan until then), and some money put away in a 401k.  I would like to retire *EARLY* while making $21,000 a year and possibly selling art on the side.  I'm neither married nor in a relationship, so I don't have a partner to share expenses or savings with.
Questions:  I really don't want to own any houses.  Should I start investing money in the Total Stock Market Index Fund?  What's the point of maxing out my 401k contribution when I want to retire EARLY?  How much money should I put into a savings account?  Should I just try to pay off my student loans ASAP?

Income: $56,000/yr gross salary.  I'm putting about 6% of my paychecks into my 401k, with a 3% company match.  I take home about $2900 each month.

Current monthly expenses:
$1801 total
$1099 left over

$1366 total expenses w/o car
$1534 left over w/o car

$900 total expenses w/o car and student loans
$1934 left over w/o car and student loans

• $325/mo car loan (2012 Chevy Sonic 1.8LT), planning to sell it soon and have been using my bike and riding the bus instead
  • $90/mo car insurance that will disappear along with the car.
  • $425/mo rent and utilities
  • $11/mo Spotify Premium
  • $200/mo food and groceries
  • $20/mo on gas for my car, which I will be using conservatively until I sell it
  • $20/mo on Internet (bundled with my phone payment and left over from a previous living situation)
  • $400/mo on student loans
  • $100/mo on Verizon phone with data, thinking of switching to a different plan in December
  • $70(ish)/mo on cat food/litter (I mix meaty wet food with dry food)
  • $120/mo on bus pass