Author Topic: Reader Case Study: Investing vs paying off mortgage  (Read 5369 times)

drawn

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reader Case Study: Investing vs paying off mortgage
« on: February 12, 2015, 01:10:01 PM »
I am new to investing and looking for some advice/guidance. My goal is to retire from working full-time within the next 5-10 years. I am 27 years old, single, no kids. Here's a look at my situation:

Income:
- 42k after taxes

Current Monthly Expenses:
- Mortgage: $955 per month (106k remaining / 30 year mortgage @ 4.5%)
- HOA: $55
- Cell/Internet: $150
- Power/Electrcity: $100
- Water: $20
- Groceries: $200-300
- Gas: $100

Total: $1,680

Assets:
- 5k in traditional IRA (Vanguard VTSMX)
- 60k in savings account

My employer does not have a 401k program. In my situation, does it make more sense for me to invest more - or should I continue to aggressively pay down my mortgage (which would cut my annual cost of living in half)?

Thanks everyone.

jms493

• Stubble
Re: Reader Case Study: Investing vs paying off mortgage
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2015, 01:18:36 PM »
You need to invest first and then with what is left over you can start chipping away at mortgage.  I would look to refinance if you can get a rate under 3.5

Debtless in Texas

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • Debtless in Texas
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2015, 01:23:14 PM »
You need to invest first and then with what is left over you can start chipping away at mortgage.  I would look to refinance if you can get a rate under 3.5

+1 on this. You will make more by investing than paying down your mortgage. Also agree with a refi - you can probably do better.

I struggled with investing and wanting no mortgage, but at 2.58% it is just dumb to pay off vs invest.

rocketman48097

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2015, 01:27:34 PM »