Author Topic: Reader Case Study: How to minimise time to FI  (Read 11563 times)

Spiliph

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reader Case Study: How to minimise time to FI
« on: October 09, 2014, 10:48:26 AM »
First of all great blog and a great forum. I only discovered MMM a week or two ago and have been hooked. I read how an earlier poster that felt like Neo awaking to the Matrix, and can't agree more with him. I was prepared to be a wage slave until old age, but now I was to:
1. Become FI so that I can sleep easier at night.
2. RE so that I can enjoy life more.

Okay so I am a software engineer and have squandered all the money that I have made in my working life, putting off saving until later. I am 33 years old, married with a 17 month old daughter. We have zero savings, two car loans and a mortgage. I have already started taking steps to get onto the right path, I am selling my car but will have save up to get rid of my wife car. It is currently worth about half as much as she owes I would guess.

Also my wife is not really buying the MMM ideals yet, so I compromised on giving her an allowance. I can do away with mine, but that seems ridiculous as I would basically be forfeiting all of my money for our family's benefit.

Gross Income:
Salary: 116,000
Bonus: 24,000
Rental Income: 9000 (Taxed differently because it is a foreign property I think)

Monthly Net Income:
Salary: 8,152
Bonus: 8,300 May
Bonus: 8,300 November
Rental: 416
My wife is not going to be working for a bit to look after our daughter.

Current monthly expenses: $7,469
401k: 1458
Health Insurance: 400
Rent: 2200 (Kirkland)
Food: 600
Natural Gas: 50
Electric: 80
Garbage, Sewerage: 120
Transport: 200
Mortgage: 1300
Wife's car: 350
Wife's car insurance: 51
Allowance: 250
Wife Allowance: 250
Internet: 70
Netflix: 10
Clothing: 50
Bank fees: 30 (High I know, but this is the fees for a private bank abroad)

Expected monthly ER expenses: $2740
Health Insurance: 700
Rent I want to own a property free and clear.
Food: 600