Author Topic: Reader Case Study - How to Get out of $36,000 in CC Debt -- Where to start  (Read 17302 times)

rogera

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hi everyone,
I am new to MMM and this forum was recommended to me to get a handle on a giant CC debt issue.

I bring home about $2800 a month (after mortgage, health insurance, electric (very cheap bill), retirement, and car insurance are taken out). I own my car and it is in good shape and up to date on repairs.

These are other fixed expenses:

$400 child care
$150 medical bill (monthly payment for next 6 months-it's already been talked down and negotiated)
$170 student loan

These are the minimums on the credit cards

$315 Card #1 14.99 interest (balance $15 K)
$156 Card #2  18.99 interest (balance is $5 K)
$200 Card #3  5.99 interest (balance is 6 K) -- this one is through a credit union
$90 Card #4   14.99 interest (Balance is 3500K)
$190 Card #5  0 interest until December 2013 (balance is $2400 K) - then goes to 18.99
$200 Card #6  0 interest until December 2014 (balance is $5100 K) - then goes to 18.99

I still need to buy groceries for two kids and gas. I estimate we spend about 500 total each month on groceries and gas, plus odds and ends for school activities. Some of the grocery bill is money for me to bring lunch to work.

That leaves around $429 left over.  I've been trying to throw this extra at Card 5 since it has a low balance and rate is about to go up but it is slow going. I'm also starting to worry about Christmas.

My two questions are:

1) I am going to get a yearly bonus of $2000 after taxes at the end of November. My inclination is to put $1800 toward Card #5 (and try to beat the rate hike) and use $200 on Christmas presents and travel -- good idea?

2) which card should I pay off next?

Thanks.

Endersmom

• Stubble
Once you clear card 5 I would then work on card 2 as it has the highest interest.

Lans Holman

• Bristles
Yes, attack the debt with the bonus.