Author Topic: Reader Case Study - How to adjust to be FIRE in 15 years  (Read 7602 times)

gReed Smith

• Stubble
Reader Case Study - How to adjust to be FIRE in 15 years
« on: June 12, 2015, 02:58:33 PM »
Life Situation: I am married with one baby on the way and another in the future plans.  I am a lawyer at a mid-sized firm in a mid-sized city in the Midwest (I am also of average height and weight).  We will be adjusting to one income after the birth of our first child in late August.  I'm concerned this will throw off my career plans, which involve giving up the 55 hr/wk grind in my mid 40s.  I am rapidly approaching 30 right around the time the baby comes.

Gross Salary/Wages: $120,000

Pre-tax deductions: 401k - $18,000
                             FSA   - $1,500
                             INS   - $6,144
                             PARK - $1,680

Other Ordinary Income: Only about $200 from bank account interest; except that I get a bonus around Christmas time which has been as low as $1,000 and as high as $30,000.  I anticipate about $20,000 this year, but it is entirely at the discretion/whim of our managing partner.

Adjusted Gross Income: $92,676

Current expenses (for one income):
                     Income           $73,212.00   $6,101.00 (after taxes and other withholding)
                     Restaurants   $3,000.00      $250.00 (I kind of hope that the hassle of taking a baby to a restaurant helps tame this)
                     Car           $3,475.00           $289.58 (commute in 2004 Mazda6 station wagon - 15 mile round trip)
                     Parking     $1,680.00           $140.00 (cheapest lease in town by far)
         Student Loans           $13,800.00   $1,150.00 (could divert up to $500/month elsewhere)
Mortgage Pmnt and Int   $12,936.00   $1,078.00
        PMI & Escrow Fluff     $2,556.00          $213.00
Taxes and Insurance          $5,700.00          $475.00