Author Topic: Reader Case Study - How do I maximize my small earnings? Stuck on a few details  (Read 4313 times)

YetiConfetti

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hi there! First of all, thanks in advance for those who take the time to read and offer suggestions, criticism, and help. I'm an eager beginner Mustachian who would like some help from the "expert Mustachians" as I get on my feet.

I'm 26 years old, single, and I'm a high school science teacher. I have a Bachelor of Science and Masters of Education, which is what attributes to my high student loan debt but also is what's helping me keep afloat financially at the moment. I'm in my third year of teaching and I'm currently working in a .8 FTE position. For those unfamiliar with education or teaching, basically I'm being paid 80% of a full-time teacher's salary. Additionally, because this is my first year in my current district I have to reapply and reinterview to hold my current position, which may actually be altogether cut next year anyway because of budget issues. Either way, I will likely find a better paying job starting September 2015.

Income: $2,100 a month year round.  My current contract is for $36k. If I were to get a full-time contact this September I could expect to take home $46k.

Current expenses

This image below is a running spreadsheet I update relatively often. I also use Mint, but because I sometimes do bulk purchases Mint didn't give a very accurate overview of my budget and spending trends. For example, I just ordered 100 pounds of cat food for $230 which will last me almost 5 months. Mint shows that as kind of one large purchase within my spending trend, which I don't like.

Student Loans