Author Topic: Reader Case Study: How can I be like MMM when I grow up?  (Read 6546 times)

resipsaloquitur

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reader Case Study: How can I be like MMM when I grow up?
« on: October 13, 2014, 09:14:43 AM »
Greetings Mustachian Muchachas/os!  I discovered this community last week and I just finished plowing through all of MMM's posts since the beginning of time.  I have loosely followed Dave Ramsey for a number of years until discovering that his methods lack badassitude, so I came looking for more.  I have had a number of setbacks that I'm digging out of (divorce, prolonged unemployment, a failed solo law firm), but I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel.  It's time to start mainlining Mustachian badassity in high doses through an IV, so I come to you for your collective wisdom and insight.  Here are my details.  Sorry in advance for the poor formatting.  This is my first post. 

INCOME: I'm a 37-year-old lawyer, working for a government agency (I actually love my job).  I gross $70,000 per year, about $53,300 after taxes and non-taxable withdrawals (401(k), $52/month--this is the limit of employer match). 

MONTHLY EXPENSES:

Child Support    $1,400 (3 kids)

Rent          $600 (this is my half of the rent, my partner pays her half. She has no interest in mustachianism, but she also has no interest in interfering with my efforts). 

Electricity       $25

Gas          $40

Phone       $52 (this is an unlimited talk/data/text plan from Cricket)

Water/Sewage/Trash   $15

Internet/Cable    $35       

Grocery       $300 (I personally live on a lot less, but when the kiddos come it spikes)