Author Topic: Reader Case Study – How are we doing? Tax-advantaged accounts, babies, student l  (Read 3927 times)

spicykissa

• Stubble
Hello!  a long-time lurker, first time poster. Thank you so much for reading all this and any feedback you have! I'll try to clarify any questions too.

Life Situation: Married filed jointly in HCOL area (outside Baltimore); I'm 27 and my husband is 29; no kids (yet), no pets, live in the cheapest 1 bedroom apartment we could find. I'm a nurse, and he is in the tech industry, both full-time. My commute is 20-30min into the city depending on traffic. His is 10min.

Gross Salary/Wages:
Me: $50,000 base salary (does not including night/weekend shift differential or overtime; I'll likely make $5000-10000 more over the course of the year, depending on scheduling vagaries). I also work a very part-time side gig for an extra ~$3000/year. This is my first year full-time as a nurse, so my numbers are not totally firm, and last year's gross was a LOT lower since I only worked the last 3 months of the year.

Him: $69,000 base salary, but gross wages were $113,000 last year, via various other 'perks' such as $34,000 in restricted stock units, $9000 in bonuses, and $2000 in daily catered lunches (my jealously may be showing through here! I am so proud of him, though).

Pre-tax deductions:
Me: ~$2000/year
HDHP = $85/month
Dental = $12/month
Parking = $64/month (GAH!!! This sucks, seeing it in writing.)
HSA = $4/month (I don't know why I bothered with such a tiny amount. . .)

Him: ~$1200/year
HDHP = $35/month
Dental = $3/month
Company-paid HSA seed = $750/year

And . . . that's it. My husband has access to a 401(k) with a 3.5% match, but doesn't want to “lock up the money” if we need it, and doesn't like the fund options. (We've fought about this! I'm about to give up on changing his mind.) My hospital will automatically start contributing an amount equal to 4% of my wages to a 401(a) next month. I will also have access to a 403b, but no match.