Author Topic: Reader Case Study - Help A Newbie Trim Some Fat  (Read 8615 times)

MySweets

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reader Case Study - Help A Newbie Trim Some Fat
« on: October 29, 2014, 10:43:58 PM »
Howdy! I'm a newbie here. I thought I was pretty frugal until I found MMM. I was starting to research more into simple living and minimalism and came across the blog. I read through all the blog posts from start to finish. Now I'm obsessed with the idea of early retirement and am slowly trying to convert my S.O. (significant other) to mustachianism. I've been trying to go through the forum threads for tips but there are so many posts! And every situation is different so I was hoping there are those of you out there who would be willing to look at mine. I just recently put together our expense report for YTD which was a bit eye-opening.

My age: 29
S.O.'s age: 31
No Kids (I want them eventually, just not right now)

Monthly Income: Total $7.3K
Mine: take home ~$5K (varies because I'm pretty much commission but this is the average)
SO: take home $2.3K

Monthly Expenses: Total $3.75K
Auto: gas $197
Auto: tolls $40
Auto: Insurance/maintenance/misc $116
Entertainment: Netflix/Video Games $40
Food: Alcohol $90
Food: Groceries $657
Food: Eating Out $373
Fitness: $91 (this is something I don't want to ask S.O. to cut back on - Supplements and Hockey fees)
Life Insurance: $40
Pet: Food/shots/Grooming $63
Rent: $1100
Electricity: $94
Internet: $78
Cell Phones: $55
Utilities: $82
Misc Home: $243 (this includes one time furniture purchases this year so should be more like $10/mo)
Gifts/hobby: $228 (doing away with this in the future but the gifting will probably be about $50/mo)
Clothing: $60
Tobacco (Me): $110

Liabilities: NO DEBT

Assets: Total $198.5K
My 401K - $67K
My Roth IRA - $21K
My HSA - $5K
My Vanguard - $43K
My Cash (E-Fund) - $14K
S.O. 401K - $32K
S.O. Roth IRA - $5.5K
S.O. HSA - $1K
S.O. Vanguard - $6K
S.O. Cash (E-Fund) - $4K