Author Topic: Reader Case Study - Grad School Financing  (Read 2336 times)

switty

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reader Case Study - Grad School Financing
« on: August 01, 2016, 08:32:04 AM »
Hi all,

I'm heading to grad school for a Master's in Computer Science (AI focus) this September and wanted to get some advice on the best way to fund it given my particular situation. To give some background, I graduated with my BS in Mechanical Engineering in 2013 and have been working at a small engineering consulting firm since then. I didn't discover MMM and FI in general until just over a year ago, but being naturally frugal and debt averse led me to pay off all of my undergraduate student loans and save a fair amount regardless. In the past year I've dramatically increased my savings rate and 401k/IRA contributions. That being said, I have also been anticipating a transition to graduate school and have avoided contributing to taxable investment accounts because of the higher short-term risk. I figured that because I may need to access that money in a 1-2 year time horizon this seemed like a better choice.

As it stands now, my portfolio will look like this before I start in September.

30k Cash
6k Roth IRA (5.5k principle) - VTSMX
34k 401k and Traditional IRA - VTSMX, VFIAX, VIMAX, VSIAX

As I'll be attending a public university with in-state tuition the total cost of the degree is relatively inexpensive at just over 20k for the MS. My COL is also going to be  around 15-20k per year over the 2 years I'm expecting the degree to take. I was not offered, and do not expect to get a RA or TA position to fund my education as these are generally reserved for PhD students.

The dilemma I'm facing is that there are quite a few distinct financial options in front of me, each with their own pros and cons.

1. Take out private or public student loans (private seem to have lower interest rates)