Author Topic: Reader case Study: Financial questions from the Costa del Sol  (Read 4170 times)

Fenicio

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Greetings, I'm a 27 year old programmer who recently started living with his girlfriend. I've been working for 2 years and I have come to the exquisite realization that the best thing i can buy with my money is to not work. Or at least not do under the thumb of a tyrant.

Starting in September my SO will begin working as a programmer too and she's already planning what to do with the money. Due my constant pestering she has adapted to the moustache way of costs and we're happily living without indulging in costly pleasures (which have not disappeared at all, just stalking us, waiting to hunt in the darkest hour).

Her new job is in walking distance from our rented flat, but my job is in a near town and i have to spend half an hour to get there and half an hour to get here. The reason that we moved here is that we're near the Parque Tecnologico de Andalucia, which is a recint where IT companies are built. And so I was expecting to get a new job here.

Without any other flowery description this is my situation:

Net Income:
Mine: 1100 €/month (12 pays)
SO: 1050 €/month (14 pays)

Total Averaged Income: 2325 €/month

Expenses:
Flat + Water: 370 €/month
Gas: 100 €/month
Electricty: 25 €/month
Food: 200 €/month
Internet: 25 €/month
Phones: 40 €/month
Car insurance: 600 €/year so 50 €/month
Cleaning girl: 100 €/month

TOTAL Expenses: 910 €/month

Debt
0 € :D

Monthly net income:
1415 €/month

Saved as of this moment:

My bank account: 12000 €
SO's bank account: 3000 €

She's planning to course a master starting on October which will cost her about 2300 €.
I'm at loss at where to progress my life as of this moment, still haven't finished my PFC (Engineers in Spain have to present a project at the end of their studies, I've been delaying it because work exhausts me).