Author Topic: Reader Case Study - Critique my overseas FIRE plan  (Read 7466 times)

Zummbot

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reader Case Study - Critique my overseas FIRE plan
« on: December 04, 2014, 04:57:44 PM »
Hello Mustachians,

So I am trying to plan an early retirement in Brazil, and am still new to the MMM concepts and would appreciate some help. I am a complete math noob, so I need the help of the senior mustachians, if you would be so kind.

Some background: I am 30, married to a Brazilian, also 30, and we want to be FIRE'd (is that a verb?) sipping caipirinhas on the beach in Brazil before we're 40. That's the goal, anyway. We currently live and work in the US, saving our stash in USD. We are committed to living a mustachian frugal lifestyle and will be for the rest of our lives.

Our expenses are down to about $2k a month, so we're pretty good there. In the very near future we will have some job changes that will put our combined yearly income (before taxes) in the $95 - $110k range. We will probably have a baby in the next couple years, but are currently childless. We have about 75k to our name currently, though a chunk of that will soon be going to a down payment on a modest house (in the 180 - 195k range).

We have made a budget for living in Brazil and determined that we will need about R$2,500 (<-- that's Brazilian reals) a month to meet our basic expenses (assuming a house is paid off and we own 1 modest used car, both of which we plan to buy in cash when we move). So, how then do we determine how many dollars are necessary to translate into R$2,500 a month (adjusted for inflation) for the next 60 years?

At the current exchange rate of 2.58, R$2,500 = $966 USD. Sweet! But the exchange rate has been on a wild ride in the past few years.