Author Topic: Reader case study- budget up for review!  (Read 6555 times)

MichelleD1977

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reader case study- budget up for review!
« on: October 07, 2013, 09:16:16 PM »
Hello you mustachians!

I am new to this blog and very motivated to put some of these concepts to work.  My husband and I are by nature very frugal and already living by many of these principles.  However, we've never tried to consciously limit our spending for any goal. If there was money in the bank, we felt it was OK to spend it.  no more of that will be happening!

A little about us- I just graduated from physical therapy school, huz is a Chemistry lab preparator at the University of Oregon in Eugene. We moved from Vermont to Eugene so that I could do a 2 year physical therapy residency with an awesome PT here in Eugene. Our biggest financial ball and chain is my school debt (was about $110,000 at 6.5%-8%, which we about split in half with a refinance cash-out on our house in VT. Now we still owe the debt along with our mortgage but at a more sane 4%. The remaining $50,000  at 6.5% I'd like to pay off in three years or less. (This will leave a lesser interest $14,000 loan and our house loan). I've calculated it will take about $1,900 a month to make the goal.

This is our budget-
Income about $5,400 a month, plus $1,200 for rent of our house in VT (total $6,600)
We have about $4,000 in savings for emergencies and (hopefully) maternity leave at some point

Mortgage on house in VT- $1589/month
 (15 year mortgage, 4% interest, remember about 1/3 is what we just took as cash-out to pay off half my loans, total loan $165,000.  It looks like we are renting our house for a loss but we are not)
Rent in Eugene-$1,200
Gas-$150
Phone/internet-$97
Average electric and garbage-$140
Student loans-$1900
Groceries-$400
Dining out/drinking out/homebrew ingredients-$220
Pet food-$15
Car insurance-about $50