Author Topic: Reader Case Study - Bring on the Face Punches  (Read 14313 times)

kaizen

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reader Case Study - Bring on the Face Punches
« on: April 22, 2014, 06:12:44 PM »
Income
Me - I currently make $120K before bonus, but it will be about $90K this year due to upcoming maternity leave. My company has a really generous leave policy, and if I went back after 18 wks instead of the full 23, it would be more like $100K but we're playing that by ear (I'm a consultant, so I'll take project timing/desirability into consideration when the time comes - more time home with my infant and toddler is more important to me than more monies).
Spouse - He recently started working at a small brokerage, commission based; he gets a base equal to his student loan payments, so about $19,800. I have no idea what income to expect from him this year other than that, because ultimately it's sales. But, it's an experiment and we've built up our emergency fund and I'm glad to actually live off one (albeit rather large) income and build our frugality muscle.
So monthly income after taxes, health insurance, and 401(k) is about $7300. (I'm looking forward to cheaper insurance when the company gets larger.)

Current monthly expenses
Student Loan: $1651
Day Care: $900 (This will double when I go back to work in Sept or Oct.)
Groceries: $500 (I really don't understand how it is this high. We don't even buy a ton of meat. Too many visits to Whole Foods I think, which is where we get some of our supplements and homeopathic remedies, so there are some health costs hidden in there.)
Rent: $400-$450 (We live with my MIL, and this includes our cell phone bill - family plan - which I'm totally reducing, once our contract(s) expire, to the much cheaper plans outlined on this blog. Sometimes she asks for a little more to help out when she randomly decides to paint something.)
Car Payment: $330 (I wish I'd found this blog before I bought a used car on loan in September.)