Author Topic: Reader Case Study - Am I on the right track & questions  (Read 7724 times)

FIRE_Buckeye

• Stubble
Reader Case Study - Am I on the right track & questions
« on: September 25, 2015, 10:32:56 PM »
Life Situation: Hey y'all; long time lurker first time poster. I'm a 26 year old recent transplant to Charlotte, NC (from Ohio). Single by IRS standards (living in an apartment with girlfriend of three years) with no dependents. I work as a financial analyst with a great company and am currently working on my CPA license.

Gross Salary/Wages: 55k base salary + bonus equal to 10% of base salary for ~$60,500 total

Pre-tax deductions: I'm currently contributing 19% pre-tax to my 401k, with a 6% employer match for a total of 25%. The company also pays all medical premiums which is a fantastic little perk.

Adjusted Gross Income: My take-home pay is roughly $1,250/biweekly pay cycle, or $32,500/year plus the 10% bonus (lets be conservative and assume that'll be ~$3,500 take home), for a rough total of $36,000 annually.

Current expenses: Current monthly expenses are as follows:
Rent: $450 (split with gf)
Utilities: $180 (Electric, Gas, Internet, Water/Sewer/Trash)(I cover these)
Student Loans: $360
Groceries:$120 (split with gf)
Travel: ~$150 (usually pretty basic beach vacations, trips with family, occasional golf trip with dad's group)
Gas for car: $100 (15 mile commute/day + occasional trips back to Ohio)
Entertainment: $120 (this covers dinner dates, movies, golf, drinks with friends, you name it)
CPA exams & study material: $100 (composed of 2/3 bulk expenses/year of ~$400 apiece til this is complete)
Prescription: $20
Total monthly expenses: ~$1,600
Total annual expenses: ~$19,200

As mentioned above, currently renting so no mortgage.

Assets: Amount & description - Current assets:
401k: 10k (just started really taking this seriously this year, see allocation plan below)
Taxable Brokerage: 15k (VTSAX)