Author Topic: Reader Case Study: $180,000 dollars in student debt  (Read 38135 times)

WiseGuy

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Reader Case Study: $180,000 dollars in student debt
« Reply #100 on: July 06, 2014, 08:56:53 PM »
first off welcome to the forums. A lot of the people here are much more aggressive then most other forums, but you seem like you can handle it.

I graduated in 2010 with $130,000 in private student loan debt and a music degree with very little potential of making a lot of income. I married that summer, and was faced with the same prospect you are now. I decided to freelance programming before trying to get a job with my degree that doesn't apply to any field, and I made around $900 / month for the first few months, my wife, despite her pregnancy, worked and made around $1000 / month. I was determined to make it work and become "stable", and I spent every waking hour prospecting and working the freelancing gig to stave off a crappy job.

in 2011 my wife stopped working to be a stay at home mom. In 2012 we bought a house, and in 2013 we had our second kid. I now live right on the bay in California making six figures programming for a startup because one of my clients happened to like me.  Throughout the hardship of finding a job on top of that we had a minimum debt payment of $16,000 a year (why taxes don't take this into account I don't know.) and we were still fairly happy. Now that I have a decent income we are making headway on the debt, we have around $105,000 total $95,000 of which is the original student loans. I'm hoping to be debt free by 2020 regardless of whether or not this job is around for another 6 years.

Don't give up you can make it. My first year I made $25,000 freelancing. You just never know where your next big windfall will come from.

I am always looking for good techies, you should drop me a line and show me what you got - BradSpark.com

best of luck