Author Topic: Reader Case Study: $180,000 dollars in student debt  (Read 38131 times)

oloxo

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reader Case Study: $180,000 dollars in student debt
« on: June 29, 2014, 10:42:46 PM »
Hello Mustachians!

I'm a freshly-minted graduate from a very nice university, currently living in Philadelphia while I look for a job. Despite my academic scholarships, I still had to borrow a considerable amount of money to go to school (about $180 grand to various parties) and now that I'm out and haven't begun my career yet, I'd love to get some input on how to overcome having a debt big enough to buy a house with.

Income:

I'm not making any formal income yet--I do make around $100/month freelancing, and am trying to ramp up my career. I'm trained as a product designer, and have some talents in graphic design, photography, writing, and farming/gardening, so I'm optimistic about that but not sure I'll be making much more money any time soon.
INCOME: $100/month

Current expenses:
Rent is $585/month until the lease is up in August. I'm making $25/month payments on loan interest (with the grace period running out in December of this year) and $3.99/month on Pandora One, since the ads drive me crazy and I refuse to pay for iTunes.
I spend about $43.00 a week on groceries and average $20.00 on transport and beer/entertainment per week. Having seen the wisdom of some of Mr. Mustache's principles regarding luxury spending, I estimate that I now spend $15/week on Miscellaneous Items, averaged out over the year (since some weeks I buy nothing, and some weeks I need to buy things like clothing and shoes without holes).
TOTAL EXPENSES: $922/month or $11064/year at the current rate

I don't have any assets, but I also don't have any debt aside from that $1600/month loan payment I can look forward to come December. The average starting salary in my field is about $36,000, so I do have that to look forward to. So:
TOTAL MONTHLY DEBT (outside expenses): $1600