Author Topic: Reaching FIRE Married vs. Single  (Read 22546 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Reaching FIRE Married vs. Single
« Reply #50 on: January 05, 2016, 10:30:05 PM »
Hopefully this hasn't already been covered, but the huge advantage to being single is you can do extreme things like living in your car at company parking and having almost zero expenses because of it. However, that option is far from being available everywhere; your climate has to be sufficiently hospitable in both summer and winter.

You can do this married.  The wife and I considered living in a vehicle for awhile.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

gerardc

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #51 on: January 07, 2017, 10:48:30 PM »
I'm not convinced that married > single, financially, even if both parties are frugal.

Taxes: married filing jointly get a slightly better combined tax rate than filing separately if both incomes are very different (a bad deal for the higher earner), but a slightly worse combined tax rate if incomes are similar. Small difference overall.

Expenses: Most shareable expenses for a couple (housing, food, transportation) can also be shared with roommates/friends, e.g. common meals or sharing a car. Plus, friends are more flexible and expendable, i.e. easy to make new ones and move on without screwing your whole life over.

JLee

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #52 on: January 07, 2017, 11:00:36 PM »
I'm not convinced that married > single, financially, even if both parties are frugal.