Author Topic: Re-entering the engineering world  (Read 11082 times)

mnn

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re-entering the engineering world
« on: October 29, 2014, 10:34:07 PM »
Hi there everyone.  I am hoping to get some advice on the following:
I graduated in 2001 with an electronic engineering degree and worked for three years total as a service/sales engineer before moving to the UK from Pakistan.  In the UK I made the mistake of deviating from my career and working in retail for about 8 years.  I was working as an assistant manager.  Anyways,  now I have moved to the US and have been desperately wanting to restart my career in engineering. 
I am enrolled in an electrical engineering graduate program and taking only one class (wireless communication and networking) because I am also working full time to make ends meet (retail again). 
My problem is that since I have been out of college for about 10 years, I don't remember a lot of the things that I learned in undergrad for ex Matlab, AutoCAD, c++ etc.  I have been applying for many positions,  even those that require little to no experience with minimal desired skills, but I have had no luck.  Someone just told me that I should get my certification in CCNA to jump start in the networking field. 
I am very confused at this point.  I am over 34 years old and I dong have a lot of time before I hit 40 (the age employees start discriminating at I heard).  If I take the graduate degree route while working full time,  I will probably finish in three or so years. 

Currently I live with my wife's family so we are not really paying rent and saving up whatever little money we are earning.  We also have a small baby, so I am a little desperate for advice.