Author Topic: Quitting day job to focus on side business  (Read 1597 times)

lielec11

• Stubble
Quitting day job to focus on side business
« on: November 06, 2017, 07:22:03 AM »
I am looking for some insight into the best way to go about transitioning from my day job to running my own company. Currently I work as an electrical engineer for a small company that does primarily multi-family design. I am very well regarded here and they are actually starting my ownership paperwork Q1 next year for partial ownership (allegedly).Coincidentally over the last year or two I've started my own company which specializes in short circuit, coordination and arc flash studies. I also do electrical design for smaller projects as well. For the record, I do not work with any of my "day job" clients on the side, nor do I plan to. I also did not sign a not compete or any other paperwork when I joined this company.

So far I've done very well for myself working with clients from the past at older jobs in different parts of the country on the short circuit studies. The design work I do is for an MEP firm in another part of the country that requires electrical help now and then. There is zero overlap of work between the day job and my side business. I'm on track to make more money from my side business than I do for my day job to date. Actually, I have contracts and PO's that total more than my salary already this year. Whether or not the clients pay in time for that to turn into reality is another story.