Author Topic: Quit my job to go back to college.  (Read 3964 times)

buttprint01

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Quit my job to go back to college.
« on: November 12, 2014, 11:21:27 PM »
Hello Mustachians, I have been a big fan of this blog for a while. This is my first time posting to the forum. I would really appreciate you wisdom and advice.

Last year I quit my full time dead end office job so I could go to college. Currently I have about 17k in student loan debt. Most of which is from a year I spent in Automotive Tech school (that was a dumb decision).

Over the past couple of years I have become a big fan of Mr. Money Mustache and I have developed a pretty frugal life style. My weekend job covers my living expenses, but I still have to take out loans for school. I know I could probably  work more and pay for school out of pocket, but that leaves very little time for studying.

I am majoring in computer science, but I am worried that I may be making a mistake. I find programming quite interesting, but my real life goal does not involve sitting in an office developing software. What I really want to do is travel. My current plan is to graduate with as little debt as possible, get the best paying job I can, keep my monthly expenses low, and put as much money as possible into paying off my school loans. Once my debt is gone I will cut back on work and spend time traveling. Maybe even do some freelance work while I travel.

So does this plan make any sense? My instincts tell me that taking on more debt to get out of debt could be a big mistake. I have already wasted the first half of my 20s drinking, partying, and doing a bunch of nothing. I know I am still relatively young, but I have 3 more years of college and then a few more years to pay off my loans. I really don't want to waste anymore time. I am not sure that if I didn't already have 17k in debt, that I would have gone back to school at all.