Author Topic: Quit consulting gig to focus on finding dream job?  (Read 1088 times)

kristof

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Quit consulting gig to focus on finding dream job?
« on: May 22, 2019, 09:36:59 AM »
I'm a freelancer currently working two long-term contracts. Contract A is about 20-25 hours/week and Contract B is 8-10 hours/week. I've been debating whether to end Contract B.

My thought process... I'm hoping to quit all my freelance work and shift my professional life this year to working for an organization with a mission (or externalities) I'm excited about (more or less a 'coast FI' plan as I have a decent but by no means full-RE-ready stache). I've been a mercenary working for (in my mind) morally questionable or neutral companies until now in my career, and I'm excited that being part-FI gives me the freedom to pursue something different. Not sure what that means yet exactly, but I have a a few specific companies and nonprofits in mind. To put my best foot forward when talking to them, I need to spend some time preparing as I'm a bit rusty on the technical side and haven't interviewed for a job in a couple of years.

My original plan was to do this prep in parallel with my current freelance gigs as the work (30-35 hours/week) still leaves some time free for it. However I'm finding that the urgent-but-not-important (from my perspective) work for my clients keeps crowding out the important-but-not-urgent tasks I've been setting for myself to get to the next step. I'm also spending a fair bit of time (8-10 hours/week) training for a competitive sport that's really important to me, and another weekly 2-3 hours (on average) on leading a volunteer organization. Overall I would say I'm more willpower-constrained than time-constrained, i.e. if you add up the hours needed for everything I want to do it's totally feasible on the calendar, but finding the energy to stay focused on these disparate priorities has been a challenge.