Author Topic: Question on tax advantaged accts  (Read 2975 times)

MrsCtank

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Question on tax advantaged accts
« on: October 20, 2016, 06:22:10 PM »
Hi!

I wanted to run my situation by yall - looking for advice on how to make our money worth the hardest in the sense of where it goes and tax savings. DH is an engineer making about 100k. I'm a veterinarian currently doing commission work but am struggling to find enough work, maybe 10-20k/yr (with self employment taxes on that). Last year I was full time and we were at 180-190k and 28%, this year I worked half the year so maybe 150-160, just on the verge of 28%.

Debts: 230k mortgage at 3.125%, 15 yr (10 left)
Student loans from my mom 90k at 0% - looking to pay over 10 years
30k emergency fund (DH wont go lower)
5500 in traditional IRA (not from this year for me)
Me: 12k old 401k in S&P index
DH: 35k 401k in S&P index (10% witholding Roth + 7% match)

We have some extra money a month however not nearly what id like if I can find stable employment, maybe 500-1000/month. DH is in favor of paying down the house but I want to at least take advantage of tax savings first and I tend to allocate everything. Also mortgage interest deduction. His 401k is not maxing this year and that's my current priority. But should it be since its Roth? Should we both fund IRAs to save on taxes? I think they'd have to be traditional with conversion later? He will be HSA eligible next year, should I fully fund that? Which of these should be priority #1? What do I need to do before april to get advantages for this year? We're both 28 but are behind due to advanced degrees/loans I feel. He has a masters.

MrsCtank

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Question on tax advantaged accts
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2016, 07:06:14 PM »
So I just came across this in another post and it's perfect - exactly what I was looking for! A few follow-up questions though.

0. Establish an emergency fund to your satisfaction   30k is DH's set number