Author Topic: Question on Roth 401k Matching  (Read 1596 times)

goodenowb1

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Question on Roth 401k Matching
« on: March 23, 2017, 03:12:10 PM »
I'm relatively new in the workforce, and have been contributing to a Roth 401k up to my employer match. My employer matches 50% of contributions up to a 6% contribution. So right now, I contribute $150 of post-tax dollars to the Roth 401k, and my company contributes $75 each pay period.

I had assumed those matching contributions were post-tax dollars, but in researching, find out the company contribution is pre-tax.

My question is: Am I losing out on company matching dollars by contributing to the Roth instead of Traditional 401k? If I contributed pre-tax dollars, say its now $200 instead of $150, my match is $100 instead of $75 right? Essentially my contribution is the same assuming the same tax rates forever, but the employer match is better for the traditional 401k than roth 401k because the $100 and $75 are treated the same tax-wise.

Am I missing something? I've never seen this taken into account, so I must be thinking incorrectly.

Thanks for the responses in advance!

Dezrah

• Bristles
Re: Question on Roth 401k Matching
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2017, 05:32:16 PM »
Your employer match is pre-tax* (traditional 401k), regardless of whether your contribution is pre or post-tax. 

We'll always help you where we can, but don't be afraid to ask your HR about the particulars of your plan.  It's their job.

*I say this, but I swear I heard that new IRS rules allow for employers to contribute matches on a post-tax basis.  I can't seem to find it with a quick search though.  I'd be willing to be money that your employer match is pre-tax though.

Proud Foot

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Question on Roth 401k Matching
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2017, 11:14:10 AM »