Author Topic: Question about my mortgage  (Read 5022 times)

Matt (Semper Fi)

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Question about my mortgage
« on: July 27, 2016, 11:20:32 AM »
Hello friends.  About 11 years ago, my wife and I bought a house with an ARM (not knowing at the time quite what we were doing).  The opening interest rate was around 6%, and was locked in for 3 years (or thereabouts).  After that, it could only adjust up to one full point per year.  Well, since that time, the rate has only gone down, and for the past two years, our rate has sat at 2.25%.  Our current minimum payment is about $412.00, and we have been pumping anywhere from $500 to $1,000 extra a month towards the payments for a few years now.  We now owe only $35,000.00 on the loan.  A little more info: I am a school teacher (11 years under my belt), and my wife is an area supervisor for Maverik Country Stores.  Together, we net about 80k, sometimes closer to 95k with bonuses.