Author Topic: Question About Contract Engineering Work  (Read 4988 times)

purplepants

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • My Journey - Purplepants' Journey From The 7th Circle of Hell
Question About Contract Engineering Work
« on: November 06, 2014, 12:37:38 PM »
Recently, I have been thinking about leaving my full-time job and looking for work on a contract basis.  I'm wondering if anyone has any insight into the pros and cons of that type of employment.

Here's the deal.  I'm an engineer, and while I'm capable of doing the work, I really don't enjoy it.  I've changed jobs four times in the past four years (either changing companies, or changing roles) and I usually feel OK in the first few months after the change.  I've got new processes to learn, new challenges, new ideas.  But after a couple of months I burn out hard.  I start to feel really apathetic and distracted, and spend more of my time on the MMM forums and less time working.  The fact that nobody even seems to notice whether I'm doing work or not makes me feel even more apathetic as I realize that most of my job is busywork that nobody cares about anyway.

I'd leave engineering altogether if it didn't pay so much better than anything else I'm qualified for.  My hair is still on fire to the tune of about $50,000 in student loans and I want to get those paid off before I change careers. 

I don't need the benefits offered through my company, as my husband has very good benefits through his career.  I'm wondering if starting to look for shorter term contract engineering positions through contract houses such as Aerotek might be a little more lucrative and provide me the opportunity to change roles more frequently.

Thoughts?

Retireme32

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Question About Contract Engineering Work
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2014, 12:59:30 PM »