Author Topic: Question about 2019 HSA contribution limits  (Read 1692 times)

kms

• Bristles
  • Minion Money Hippie
Question about 2019 HSA contribution limits
« on: February 19, 2019, 04:25:05 PM »
Not sure how HSA works since I'm fairly new to this country and the clusterfuck that is American health insurance, so please forgive me if this is a stupid question.

We are a family of three: me, my wife, and our daughter. My wife has health insurance through her employer, and added our daughter to her plan after she was born in early January. She is thus on a family plan. I am self-employed and have purchased my own health insurance through the Marketplace. I am thus on an individual plan.

We both have separate HSA accounts - mine is with Fidelity, my wife's is through her employer with Health Equity. According to the IRS, the 2019 contribution limits are as follows:

Individual: $3,500
Family: $7,000

Unfortunately, I see two different interpretations of these numbers:

a) I get $3,500 for my individual health insurance plan. My wife gets $7,000 for her family health insurance plan. The 2019 total for our family of three is $10,500.

b) I get $3,500 for my individual health insurance plan. My wife gets $7,000 for her family health insurance plan. The 2019 total for our family of three is $7,000 split between our two HSA accounts.

Which one is it, a or b?
« Last Edit: February 19, 2019, 04:32:32 PM by kms »

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Question about 2019 HSA contribution limits
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2019, 05:02:07 PM »
b.

See Pub. 969.

Dave1442397

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2019, 05:53:47 AM »
Yeah, the limit applies to your family, no matter how many accounts it's spread across.

My HSA account only requires that a cash balance of $1000 be kept for immediate expenses. The rest of the money can be invested, and we have access to some Vanguard and Fidelity funds, so make sure you look into that.

radram

• Pencil Stache