Author Topic: Quarter-life crisis  (Read 15989 times)

Jacob1234098

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Quarter-life crisis
« on: March 10, 2015, 09:04:30 AM »
I'll start by saying I've been a Moustachian since beginning the workforce. Five years later, I have 210k saved, a large portion in retirement accounts. I am a software developer making 75k, saving approx. 80% of post-tax dollars (maybe 48k/year).

This past year, I've been strongly encouraged by family (and my brother in medical school) to pursue med school. I finished most of my pre-reqs in college. After a lot of work, I am now ready to submit my application for entrance in Aug 2016. But I'm terrified. I will be giving up my job/salary and paying over 100k for school to pursue a career that there is no way I can leave once I begin.

I have shadowed several doctors, and I think I'll enjoy the career more. But I'm doubting whether the things I will be sacrificing (time, opportunities, travel, early retirement) will be worth the trade. And as I mentioned, there's no backing out once starting, without big penalties. I hear burnout and being stuck are common problems for physicians.

I'm 28, and I feel I have missed out on so many experiences studying and working and never exploring life. I worry med school will continue this trend. But school might be full of new, exciting experiences instead.

The other option is travel, living in low cost-of-living countries, discovering new things, meeting new people, floating. I know this would fill my desire to explore life, but I fear I may regret this decision later and want the challenge, purpose, and community of med school.

If there are any physicians, residents, or current med students who can provide some wisdom, I would REALLY appreciate it!! I am under so much stress trying to make this decision.

--------------