Author Topic: Purchasing another rental  (Read 7315 times)

GoatStache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Purchasing another rental
« on: January 11, 2016, 11:49:41 AM »
Be gentle, it's my first time.

I've noticed a common theme amongst early retirees and it's cash flowing rentals. I'm sure there's exceptions but for my specific situation I am very interested in acquiring additional cash flowing properties. I'm 32

Wife and I have:
No student loans
no cc debt
no car payment
Primary residence have about 20k of equity, 440k mortgage @3.375% 26 years left
Investment property with negative equity(~-20k) 158k mortgage @4.5% 26 years left currently occupied long term tenant.

I lose around 1500 a year on the investment property with EVERYTHING considered. I bought it in 2006 at the very top of the market and I began renting it out in 2009. 

I refinanced both properties in 2012, loses used to be far worse at investment property.

I have 75K in 401k, wife has around 25k in a 401k.

We each have 35k in our roth ira.

(~15k cash reserves)

I want to transition from the cube life (I have a VERY stable govt job (~100k) , wife is a county employee (~55k))

I would like to acquire a positive cash flowing rental property and then another... and then another but I need to start with property 1 (I suppose it's 2 in my case) first.

So, my question is... any advice for what I'm doing wrong? I've considered opening a HELOC on my primary to pay down the investment property so it's no longer underwater for the tax advantages on the HELOC and aggressively pay down the HELOC. I suspect the answer is coming to the table with cash borrowed from my 401 so I have more skin in the game.

I'm not intimidated by the prospect of being a landlord or managing a rental.

Thanks in advance for replies.

Goat

ooeei

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Purchasing another rental
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2016, 11:59:50 AM »