Author Topic: PSLF Program  (Read 4124 times)

Miaow1

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
PSLF Program
« on: December 02, 2012, 06:29:17 PM »
First I want to thank everyone who posts here. They are really helpful I was wondering if someone could help me

I do not understand the PSLF program. I I think I qualify for this program. I have been making payments on my student loans since 1998. I work for a public university so the non profit thing is OK.

The part I do not understand is the qualified payment part. I consolidated my loans in 2003 into a single Sallie Mae loans. They are at 9%. Do I qualify for PSLF. If yes I should be among the first to qualify in 2017.

I have sent in the form that was recently created by the Education department but I haven't heard anything and I can't seem to find any number or email to contact them.

The loan balance is 35000 and I do consider it an emergency.

Please any help you can give would be greatly appreciated.

kudy

• Pencil Stache
Re: PSLF Program
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2012, 06:32:40 PM »
Ouch, 9% sounds painful, is consolidating student loans into 1 loan a common practice? I am sorry, I don't know anything about the details of PSLF.

Miaow1

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2012, 07:36:31 PM »
At the time it seemed like a good idea. It was better than the 15% I was paying and it spread the payments out over 20 years with no prepayment penalty. Its a fairly common practice.

chicagomeg

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2012, 08:30:27 PM »
Unfortunately your loans have to be federal loans to qualify; those sound like private loans to me.

Miaow1

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2012, 08:49:03 PM »
These are stafford federal loans

chicagomeg

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2012, 08:11:11 AM »
These are stafford federal loans