Author Topic: Pros and cons of increasing credit card limit  (Read 5995 times)

Rosy

• Magnum Stache
Pros and cons of increasing credit card limit
« on: August 24, 2015, 05:42:43 PM »
Got a letter from Chase Amazon today about upping my credit limit - go online, put in a code - automatic increase?? I have never done that before, but I would like to because the current limit is lower than I would like. 

I am tempted to, because it is the card with the best interest rate, which I have had the longest, since 2002 and the rewards are nice too. It is the card I use when I travel and I've come too close for comfort to the limits off and on.

So what do you say Mustachians? What effect will this have on my credit? - Fico score? Is there something else I should know?

What limit should I ask for - expect to get?

vhalros

• Bristles
Re: Pros and cons of increasing credit card limit
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2015, 05:59:52 PM »
The only downside I can think of is  that they will do a hard pull on your credit history, which will normally knock your credit score down a couple of points for a while; unless you do have many hard pulls in a short amount of time, which can knock you credit score down more significantly. I am assuming that, since your posting here, you already know better than to spend more just because you have a higher credit card limit.

The primary advantage is it is easier to keep your balance below 10% of your limit, which in the long term will boost your credit score. Keep in mind that it is the combined limit for all your cards that matters in this context.

So, I'd go ahead and get it upped unless you need to maximize your credit score in the short term (like you are buying a house this year or something). I increased mine every year for a while until they were so ridiculously high I don't ever have to think about it any more (for a less frugal individual, the number might not seem so ridiculously high).