Author Topic: Programming/Coding Worth Learning for Side Hustle/Career Change or Supplement?  (Read 10660 times)

EngiNerd

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
The Basics:  I am a 29 year old engineer with 5 years of structural design and field engineering/construction management
experience.  I was recently exposed to life in SF and the tech scene by an old friend who is currently working on his own start
up.  I have no programming experience.  I write fairly simple excel and mathcad files for design and personal finance purposes
but never even began to learn a coding language.   

I know this community is heavily weighted with programmers/coders so I figured I would reach out for some opinions. 
Obviously there are too many variables for a “correct” answer but I just wanted to read some input from like-minded folk. 
Would committing 10-20 hours a week to learn to code in hopes of future financial compensation be more valuable than say
further specialization in my current career or learning real estate/rental markets?  I currently have a high savings rate ~55-60%,
and am inclined to put after tax savings into rentals rather than index funds but being a landlord is not very appealing to me.   

My thoughts and plan:  Learning something new is always a positive and usually enjoyable.    I should spend a few months
committed to learning the basics and see if I have a passion for it and worst case I learn some of what goes into the technology
that influences so much of our lives, both personal and professional but never monetize the knowledge.

Personal context and rambling, unnecessary to answering the subject question:  My friend is completely tech biased and
optimistic.  He thinks the net, software, and AI will prove to be a greatest of all the industrial revolutions.  There is currently a
lack of talented programmers.  Many new programmers are so lacking in eq that even if they are talented and skilled, they still