Author Topic: Professional Resume/Cover Letter Writing Service?  (Read 3149 times)

Philociraptor

• Handlebar Stache
  • Eat. Sleep. Invest. Repeat.
Professional Resume/Cover Letter Writing Service?
« on: January 26, 2016, 12:46:45 PM »
What are y'all's thoughts on using a professional resume / cover letter writing service like TopResume for job hunting? I've been applying to jobs for several months and haven't received a single invitation to interview. I'm guessing it's because they are filtering me out due to my resume or cover letter. A professional might be able to include the correct keywords, improve experience phrasing, and get me past the filters that have been stopping me so far.

If this sounds like it may be of value, how much would you pay? Their current pricing is $149 for a resume, cover letter, and 2 revisions. I believe this would be money well-spent if it results in a higher paying job. I also imagine some will see this service as face-punch-worthy. Discuss.

younggunner

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Professional Resume/Cover Letter Writing Service?
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2016, 12:59:45 PM »
A well written resume is worth every penny of that 149$.  Could be the difference of getting the interview or not.  That being said, 149 seems expensive.  I'm sure there are a lot cheaper options.  I know there are a lot of people willing to write resumes on the website fiverr.com.  I'm sure you could get one done for 5-10 dollars.   Though I have no experience on that site, just know there are people on the site who do lots of resumes. 

Axecleaver

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2016, 01:13:51 PM »
Look on craigslist or fiverr first. Many of these resume services outsource their writing work to India.