Author Topic: Producing instead of consuming when you don't own a house  (Read 4597 times)

patch45

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Producing instead of consuming when you don't own a house
« on: March 26, 2018, 07:21:47 PM »
I live in Denver, and generally stay pretty busy. I work as a software engineer, and I bike, hike, climb, hang out with friends pretty regularly. Play music sometimes too. I've noticed on the weeknights when I'm not doing one of these things and I'm not with my girlfriend, I end up just messing around on the internet all night. Which I'm never really happy with when I look back on that night.

I'm looking for a hobby where I can make something with my hands, something to do on the lazy weeknights. I'd rather not spend much time on a computer since I do that all day, which rules out working on open source or personal software projects. I love working on my bike, but I only really do it at the bike coop that isn't open very late.

On top of all this, I don't have a lot of storage space, so I don't really want to invest in large woodworking tools. I know I could join a hackerspace or makerspace, but I the ones in Denver are far enough away to discourage me from biking over there on a rainy day, for instance.

I'm really looking for something that would be easy to move as I move apartments, cities, etc. And something that lets me create something physical. I'm not very visually artistic, but I'd be willing to work on that.

What do you all do?

MrDelane

• Pencil Stache
Re: Producing instead of consuming when you don't own a house
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2018, 07:34:31 PM »
Have you considered taking up cooking as a hobby?
I know you want to produce and not consume.... but what about something physical you can then consume?

I get a lot of satisfaction out of cooking, personally.
Might not be what you're looking for - but figured I'd throw it out there.

plainjane

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2018, 07:38:57 PM »
This is why I took up knitting.