Author Topic: prioritizing among low-interest debt  (Read 3174 times)

egdebtfree

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
prioritizing among low-interest debt
« on: November 24, 2017, 09:00:12 PM »
Hello!
I am in the middle of my goal to be debt-free before age 35 (I'll be 33 next month... two years to go!) I have no credit card debt, own my car outright, and have paid off my high-interest student debt. My highest-interest debt at the moment is a $95,000 consolidated student loan that I refinanced to 4.7% (DISCLAIMER: yes, this is HUGE debt-- I'm a health care professional... I graduated with $210k of student loan debt from undergrad and graduate schools, now down to $110k). My next highest-interest debt is $25,000 at 4.5% interest, which was from a home equity loan I took out when I uncovered significant water damage in my condo and insurance only covered half of the costs necessary to repair the work (and I did not want to liquidate a savings investment account that earns closer to 7-8% on average to fund the repairs).

So I write to the Mustachians out there to ask: do I continue to make extra payments on my highest-interest loan, or is it better to get the home equity loan paid off first? I earn too much income to qualify for any tax credits for student loan interest.

Thank you for your thoughts!

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: prioritizing among low-interest debt
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2017, 09:37:05 PM »
...I did not want to liquidate a savings investment account that earns closer to 7-8% on average to fund the repairs.
If you expect that historical performance to continue, why pay faster on any ~4.6% loans?

Catbert

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2017, 09:20:28 AM »
The difference between 4.5% and 4.7% is negligible so I would work on the home equity loan.

Dicey

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2017, 09:42:40 AM »
Prioritize any loans that do not have fixed interest rates.

MDM

• Senior Mustachian