Author Topic: price negotiations with the dealership  (Read 2628 times)

Case

• Pencil Stache
price negotiations with the dealership
« on: March 27, 2019, 06:13:08 AM »
Per my last post, I'm getting ready to purchase a replacement vehicle for my late mustache mobile.

Some people relish the opportunity to haggle; I am not one of them.  But I am a researcher.  I am willing to put in some effort for a good deal, but don't want to drag this out forever.  I'm looking for advice on how to efficiently deal with car salespeople/dealerships on price negotiations.

My approach had been to determine the Kelley Blue Book Value of the car, and then have their 'fair purchase price' as my upper limit.  I will start my offering lower than that, and be willing to work up to that point, but will walk if the dealership wont budge.

Any perspectives on how much hassle it takes to get dealerships to reach this point?  I figured 'fair purchase price' was a fair target to not have to haggle for days on end.  I am willing to walk out of a dealership, but if I have to do this over and over and over again, I will get worn out.

I also have multiple dealerships/cars within range, and if needed I can compete them against each other ("this dealership is offering this price, here's the webpage/quote, will you match it).

Also, my opinion on additional fees that the dealership throws in at the last minute, I will not accept.  I will tell them this upfront, that I want to negotiate the final price.

I have never bought a car before; I've made due on a hand-me-down for 15 years.  Please, fellow Mustachians, educate me!

TheHardenedInvestor

• Stubble
Re: price negotiations with the dealership
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2019, 06:15:36 AM »