Author Topic: Pre-retirement Mustachian tips on buying work clothes?  (Read 11277 times)

lsalinas

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Pre-retirement Mustachian tips on buying work clothes?
« on: October 10, 2013, 11:37:35 AM »
I need to buy suits for work.  I want to save money but I also want to look nice and I was hoping for some tips.  I tried upscale consignment stores with brand names, but the sizes were way to small for me (on a recent trip I discovered there is a size double zero for when size zero is just too big!)

My hair is natural, I keep my nails unpolished and short, usually wear business casual, and I don't have jewelry.  So in general I look less "put together" than the other women in my office who have salon styled hair, manicures, and bling.  I am a finance manager at an international company and as my career is advancing I find myself in contact with global executives almost everyday now. 

Nobody has said ever said anything to me but I am feeling more and more out of place with my "unpolished" look.  Even my administrative assistant wears suits to work everyday!  So my plan was to have 10 suits and 5 nice dresses.  That way I can go through my work clothes rotation every 3 weeks. 

Does 15 outfits sound like enough? Too much?  I currently only have 5 suits and 2 nice dresses so I have a lot of suit buying I need to do and any advice would be appreciated! 
« Last Edit: October 10, 2013, 12:20:02 PM by lsalinas »

epowers

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Pre-retirement Mustachian tips on buying work suits?
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2013, 12:58:07 PM »